top of page
  • hilbertgo

Don’t Forget To Fill Your Bucket


Yesterday was scheduled to be a full-packed Sunday. But we woke up with a Meralco power interruption. Reaching for my phone, I realized I wasn’t able to charge it the night before. I decided to turn it off to save the last remaining battery it had, hoping I can still use it later if needed.


Thank God it was just a short brownout. A few minutes later I was able to charge my phone and made sure it reached full-battery status, ready for the whole day’s activity.


Since almost all smartphones need charging at least once a day, charging it has definitely become a daily habit. And the reality is all batteries will always run out.


Even if you turn off your device for a while, the battery will still be the same when you turn it on again. You cannot replenish energy unless you recharge it.


Same is true for us.


A few years ago, my idea of rest was sleeping.


After a long week of work I look forward to the weekend where I can sleep longer hours and hopefully regain energy for the coming week. Then when the new week came, I went through the same cycle of work-sleep-work.


Although sleeping has many physical benefits, I realized it wasn’t enough to recharge my whole being. Like turning off my phone hoping it can produce more battery when it’s not being used.


There is a kind of recharge that we all need: A meaningful conversation with a dear friend. Dining at your favorite restaurant. Going on a road trip. Starting a new hobby. Reading a book.


If there is one important lesson I learned throughout the whole pandemic, it is to value your mental health.


So if you have the means, always take time to completely recharge. Don’t feel guilty about it.


Stay healthy for the people who needed you the most.


Don’t forget to fill your bucket.

תגובות


bottom of page