top of page
  • hilbertgo

We Have A Big White Box Called Art


We thought it's cute to see our son doodle with colored pens. We also read that art for kids can enhance their imagination and creativity.


So when he was 2 years old we started buying art materials for him: crayons, colored pens, and paints with cute tiny brushes.


But he didn't like art very much.


With crayons, he would sit for 5 minutes then he would go look for something else to play with. With washable paint, he can last for 15 minutes as long as he is drawing on a blank wall.


So we got him a big white box to store his art materials. And we labelled it Art.


We placed his pens and brushes in there. Some are even unused. Once in a while we open it up just in case he wants to use them.


But most of the time that big white box stays on the storage shelf together with other boxes. It stays untouched for months.


I also have a big white box. But it doesn't have coloring pens or any cute brushes.


And just last week, I was reminded to pull it out of the shelf and to open it up.


So what's inside my box?


All the God-given opportunities, skills, and talents that I failed to use.


And sadly, most of them were shelved for so many years.


It could be because of my fear of responsibilities. Or it could be simply because I didn't trust God enough to follow Him where He's leading me at that time. But whatever it is, I hope it's not too late to get back up and start moving.


Now I'm challenged to keep my box open at all times. So I'm not putting it back on the shelf.


Let this be a reminder that God has entrusted something valuable to us. And He expects us to take good care of it. We have a calling.


It's time to be good stewards of the Master.


Let's open those big white boxes!

Comments


bottom of page