top of page
  • hilbertgo

Being A Grown-up Is Not Fun



Halfway through the busiest year ever.


I was finishing some work while we were having breakfast.

It must have been too early to look frazzled and exhausted.


But my excuse is that I only had 4 hours of sleep.

All because of work.


"Being a grown-up is not fun," said my son.

"Why?" I asked him.

"You only work and not play."


For a child, work is the opposite of play.

Work is exhausting. Play is fun.

Work is a kill-joy that needs to be avoided.


Or maybe that’s how my son understands work-

by looking at his busy daddy.


I realized that if I don’t model the right attitude towards work, my kid would have a negative connotation towards it.


And that needs a shift in mindset.


And maybe better time management so I won’t need to work during family meals.


As parents, it’s hard to find the right balance between work and play.

I don’t even know if there is one.


But one thing is sure, both of them can be special.


Play becomes special because of who you do it with.

Work becomes special because of who you do it for.


And maybe if we give time to play with the same people that we work hard for,


Being a grown-up can be a lot of fun too.

Commenti


bottom of page