top of page
  • hilbertgo

How Do You Look At Time?



Looking at this photo of my son and my dad made me realize that all of us look at time differently.


My son looks at it with great anticipation. He knows that every moment entails a new discovery in this big and crazy world called life. Eager and excited. Young and careless. As though time is an infinite resource.


My dad, on the other hand, may look at it in an entirely different lens- as an older man, well-advanced in age. Could it be that there is both comfort and distress in knowing that what will always catch your eyes is how much time is remaining? After all, with all the decades of life lessons and experiences, it would be wise to just slow down and focus on doing what’s really important in life.


What I love about this photo is that they both got what they were looking for:

My ever-curious son ready to see all the beauties of this world as Grandpa lifts him up to get a better view.


My dad, on the other hand, is enjoying a moment doing something that matters most in life- playing with his grandchild.


Two outlooks about life shared in the same frame of time.


This photo is a reminder that whatever stage you are in life, never lose the eagerness to discover new things. But also, be wise to pursue only things that are worth doing.


After all, no matter how you look at time, it will never be in our hands.


Moses was right when he prayed, “Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

Comments


bottom of page