top of page
  • hilbertgo

"I Am Jealous."


Apart from the usual tantrums and emotional outbursts, our kid is starting to understand the emotions he is feeling and learning how to name them. Here are the usual answers we get when we ask him "How do you feel":


“I’m mad!” -When asked to stop playing because it’s lunch time.


“I’m bored.” -When it’s lunch time and we have vegetables.


“I’m so excited!” -When it’s time to ride the car.


“I’m sad.” -When it’s time to go home. And is always followed by “I’m mad!”


Most of us grew up not knowing how to properly express ourselves. When we reached adulthood, these repressed feelings start to manifest in our behaviors and eventually affects our relationships. But that should not be the case. Properly expressing yourself is not a sign of weakness.


Our kid reminds us that if you love someone, you have to be willing to be vulnerable. You have to open up. You have to express yourself. Let them see the real you.


And hopefully he grows up well aware that our home is the safest place to be himself. And that mommy and daddy is always ready to listen to how he feels.

Comments


bottom of page