top of page
  • hilbertgo

What Do You Do With A Broken Bowl?


We were having a late breakfast and I was telling our son to finish up his oatmeal. Ignoring me, he slowly pushed his bowl with his right hand towards the edge of the table.


And without hesitation, he gave one gentle nudge to send the bowl crashing to the floor.


He was shocked when he heard the bowl shatter into pieces. And he was stunned when I shouted at him in surprise and anger.


For the next few minutes, I scolded him with strong words. And while picking up the broken bowl pieces, a shard of glass accidentally scratched my right middle finger.


In that instance I could have let my anger get hold of me. I thought of giving him a hard spanking. I thought of all the nasty words I wanted to say to him.


But I stepped back and paused for a while.


Then I asked him to take a look at the broken pieces on the floor. I also showed him the small wound on my finger.


He didn't say a word. I knew he understood what happened. After a couple of minutes his face turned sober and filled with guilt.


I also understood what happened.


All of us have been in situations that made us lose all self-control. We reacted in hurtful ways that we now regret. Whether verbally or in any other way, we can cause a deep wound or a trauma to someone- even to a loved one.


We know this because most of us are carrying a scar as well. And I feel you.


That morning could have been a bad turning point. Who knows what kind of emotional wound I could have inflicted with just my words.


I'm so glad there were only two things that got damaged that morning: my wounded finger and the broken glass bowl.


I know the wound on my finger would heal.


But what can I do with the broken bowl? Nothing.


But at least I learned a lesson from it-


That there are many things in life that are not worth breaking.

Comments


bottom of page