top of page
  • hilbertgo

What’s Your Favorite Part Of The Day?


After cleaning up and preparing to sleep, we have our routine of asking each other how our day went. And we always share what’s our favorite part of the day. Usually, it’s a fun game that we played in the morning or a simple car ride to a nearby grocery store.


Yesterday we ate breakfast at our porch and that was our son's favorite part of the day.


As a dad, I get to enjoy sharing my favorite part of the day. It’s a good habit to end the day by reminiscing what made you smile today. More often than not, there is always something you can recall as your most favorite.


Also, it made me more mindful of making sure I do something fun within the day that is worth sharing.


This practice could also be applied for the week, for the month, or even for the year. We could always pick a favorite and tell it to others.


But I wonder if there will come a time that we get to share the favorite part of our lifetime?

At the end of my life, how would I respond if God would ask me what’s the favorite part of my life?


Most of us have a lot to choose from- a happy family, a successful career you established, or maybe a lasting legacy you are leaving. These are all blessings that are worth remembering. No doubt.


But there is one truth that I was reminded of while having this practice of recollection: That God did not prepare our best life here on earth.


Jesus promises that our best life is yet to come. And it will be in eternity with Him.


Even the most memorable trips around the world will be a far cry from what Christ will prepare for those who put their faith in Him during this lifetime.


And that is exciting!


But for now, I get to experience my simple favorites and share it before the day ends.


Tonight, maybe it'll be playing shadows with our son.


How about you?


What’s your favorite part of the day?

Comments


bottom of page